If you’ve tracked your step data on Pacer for weeks, months or even years, you know how great it is to see your progress since you started actively walking. Back up your Pacer data so that if you upgrade (or lose!) your phone, or if you have to delete your Pacer App, you can easily restore your data and get back to walking.
Pacer generally stores your data locally on your device. This means if you change or lose access to your phone, you can lose access to your Pacer data! You may run into a situation where you need to temporarily delete your Pacer App, which can also cause data loss. Fortunately, you can back up your step data for free, quickly and easily. Here’s how!
*Note, this is a guide for iOS devices. If you’re on Android, check this guide for details!
**If you need to delete Pacer, we recommend you backup your data EVERY TIME! This is the only way to ensure that no data is lost. If you delete without backing up, your data could be lost!
Back up your Pacer data!
While Pacer should automatically back up your data periodically if you’re signed in via your email address, we recommend making sure your data is backed up successfully. If you ever need to delete Pacer or change phones, please take a minute to ensure you’re backed up using the method below.
*Note – Pacer’s iOS and Android versions are slightly different. Unfortunately, this means that steps cannot be backed up and restored from Android -> iOS or iOS -> Android.
1. Go to Me -> Settings
Go to the “Me” tab, then click the “Settings” button. It’s the little “Gear” icon at the top right, highlighted below.
You can find many Pacer settings that you can adjust in this menu!
2. Find and Click “Backup & Restore”
In “Settings,” you can do many things including changing units (km/miles) and your step goals. You can also sync to Apple Health and MyFitnessPal from this page.
Find “Backup & Restore” under the “DATA & SYNCING” heading. You may have to scroll down on your screen to find it.
3. Click “Backup”
Click the “Backup” button to backup your data! You can see the last time you backed up your data below this.
4. Restore your data (if necessary!)
If you successfully backed up your data, but you’ve upgraded your phone or your data was lost, here’s how you can recover it! Note – make sure that you’ve actually backed up your phone before trying to restore data!
Use the same steps as before, but instead of clicking “Backup,” click “Data Restore.” You’ll be reminded that backing up your data will overwrite previous data on your device. Continue and your data will be restored to the pre-backup state!
Overwriting is generally only an issue if you deleted Pacer or upgraded your phone, then logged into Pacer with a new account for a long period of time (over a week). Or, if you were logged in with someone else’s Pacer ID. If this were to happen, Pacer may overwrite your Phone’s backed up data with your own and some non-backed up steps could be lost. If you haven’t backed up in a long time (over a week), and then you try to restore your steps it’s also possible data will be lost.
For best results, back up regularly and only restore when necessary. If you have to delete Pacer, back up first EVERY TIME!
If you haven’t downloaded the Pacer app yet, download Pacer for free (on mobile)! You can also check out our website (mobile or desktop) or follow our blog for more great walking and healthy lifestyle tips.